Back to upwork
upwork — Recommended Actions
All 4 privacy actions we recommend, grouped by category and prioritized by risk.
Privacy Controls(3)
Recommended Actions
Data deletion
- 1Navigate to Upwork's GDPR Compliance help article.
- 2Follow the instructions to submit a data deletion or account closure request.
Marketing email opt out
- 1Log in to your Upwork account.
- 2Go to your Notification Settings (via account settings).
- 3Select the Messages tab or relevant notification category.
- 4Adjust the email notification toggle to opt out of marketing or promotional messages and save your preferences.
Work diary screenshot awareness
- 1Go to Deliver work then Hourly work diary.
- 2Select the contract and day from the dropdown menus.
- 3Find the block of time you want to remove.
- 4Hover over the block and select the option to delete it.
Automate your privacy
Connect your accounts to TrueTerms to automate these privacy actions and monitor policy changes.
AI Training & Opt-outs(1)
Recommended Actions
Ai training opt out
- 1Log in to your Upwork account and click your profile picture in the top-right corner, then select Settings from the dropdown.
- 2In the left sidebar, click Privacy Settings, then navigate to the AI Preferences section.
- 3Toggle off all three data categories: Communications Data, Work Product Data, and Other Platform Data.
- 4Save your changes.
Automate your privacy
Connect your accounts to TrueTerms to automate these privacy actions and monitor policy changes.